PerVehicle 2021

International Workshop on Pervasive Computing for Vehicular Systems
in Conjunction with IEEE PerCom 2021

3rd International Workshop on Pervasive Computing for Vehicular Systems

In conjunction with 2021 IEEE International Conference on Pervasive Computing and Communications (PerCom 2021)

Call for Papers

3rd International Workshop on Pervasive Computing for Vehicular Systems (PerVehicle 2021) aims to provide researchers and practitioners a forum for presenting and discussing research challenges on pervasive and mobile computing technologies for intelligent vehicular systems.

Vehicular systems have become more significant for our society. For example, connected vehicles will provide new network architectures and middleware to enable new pervasive applications like intelligent platooning, cooperative optimization of traffic flows, automated vehicles and intelligent vehicle-pedestrian safety systems. In addition, drones and UAVs will bring new concepts and ideas for smart mobility and society. Pervasive computing technologies including wireless networking, mobile and distributed computing, sensor systems, ambient intelligence, and smart devices, will play more important roles in designing, managing and realizing intelligent, smart vehicular systems. The main focus of this workshop is on such pervasive and mobile computing for/by vehicular systems.

We solicit technical papers describing original, previously unpublished research, not currently under review by another conference or journal. Submissions should clearly identify how they relate to issues on pervasive computing and vehicular systems. Contributions describing an overall working system and reporting real world deployment experiences are particularly of interest.

March 22 or 26, 2021
Kassel, Germany Virtual
Topics of this workshop include, but are not limited to
  • connected vehicles
  • vehicular ad-hoc networks
  • Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS)
  • mobile and pervasive computing for/by vehicles
  • human-machine interface for vehicular systems
  • V2X communications (vehicles, roadside units, infrastructure, drones, pedestrians)
  • mobile edge computing
  • autonomous/automated vehicles
  • drone and UAV
  • middleware for vehicular systems
  • new applications for vehicular systems
  • security for vehicular systems

Paper Submission

Paper submission has to be done via EDAS. If you don't have an EDAS account, please, register first (it is free) via the following.

Submitted papers must be original contributions that are unpublished and are not currently under consideration for publication by other venues. Submissions are limited to a maximum length of 6 pages and must adhere to IEEE format (2 column, 10 pt font, see here).

Papers can be submitted via the following EDAS submission portal for PerVehicle 2021.

Each accepted workshop paper requires a full PerCom registration (no registration is available for workshops only). Workshop papers will be included and indexed in the IEEE digital libraries (Xplore).

Important Dates

Workshop Paper Submissions: November 9, 2020 November 30, 2020 December 7, 2020 (Extended, Firm)
Paper Notifications: January 5, 2021
Camera Ready: February 5, 2021
Workshop Date: March 22, 2021


Organizing Committee
Workshop Organizers
  • Susumu Ishihara (Shizuoka University, Japan)
  • Hiroshi Shigeno (Keio University, Japan)
  • Hirozumi Yamaguchi (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Tatsuya Amano (Osaka University, Japan)
Technical Program Committee
  • Onur Altintas (Toyota Motor North America R&D InfoTech Labs, USA)
  • Juan-Carlos Cano (Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain)
  • Shengli Fu (University of North Texas, USA)
  • Teruo Higashino (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Takamasa Higuchi (Toyota Motor North America R&D , USA)
  • Shigemi Ishida (Kyushu University, Japan)
  • Yuka Kato (Tokyo Woman's Christian University, Japan)
  • Ryozo Kiyohara (Kanagawa Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Jae-Han Lim (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Hiroaki Morino (Shibaura Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Susana Sargento (Instituto de Telecomunicações, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal)
  • Takaaki Umedu (Shiga University, Japan)
  • Evgenii Vinogradov (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • Yan Wan (University of Texas at Arlington, USA)
  • Tomoyuki Yashiro (Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Keiichi Yasumoto (Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)

Pervious PerVehicle